Robert Breunig

Director, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute

Chair of Tax Policy and Public Finance

Professor Robert Breunig is one of Australia’s leading Public Policy Economists. His research is motivated by important social policy issues and debates, and his work is characterized by careful empirical study and appropriate use of statistical technique.

Professor Breunig’s research agenda has led to many partnerships with government organizations in Australia and overseas and he works regularly with the Australian Treasury, the Department of Employment, the Department of Industry, the Department of Communication and the Arts, the Productivity Commission, the Australian Bureau of Statistics as well as many other agencies. He has been a consultant to the private sector on marketing, mergers, bank competition and customer loyalty programs.

John Hewson AM

Chair of the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute (TTPI) Advisory Comittee

Dr John Hewson is an economic and financial expert with experience in academia, business, government, media and the financial system. He has worked as an economist for the Australian Treasury, the Reserve Bank, the International Monetary Fund and as an advisor to two successive Federal Treasurers and the Prime Minister. Dr Hewson was the former leader of the federal opposition in Australia during 1990-1994.

Mathias Sinning

Associate Professor, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute

Mathias Sinning is an Associate Professor at the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute (TTPI) of the ANU Crawford School of Public Policy. He is interested in the empirical analysis of issues related to labor economics, public economics and policy evaluation. His work has been published in Economic Inquiry, Health Economics, Industrial and Labor Relations Review, Journal of Banking and Finance and Journal of Economic Behavior and Organization, among others. Mathias has previously held academic appointments at the ANU and the University of Queensland. He has been a Visiting Fellow of the Office of Population Research at Princeton University and the National School of Development at Peking University.

Miranda Stewart

Professor, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute

Miranda Stewart researches tax law and policy, including taxation of business entities in the context of globalisation; not-for-profits; tax and development; budget laws and institutions; and legitimacy of tax reform processes and institutions nationally and internationally.

Peter Whiteford

Professor, Crawford School

Peter is the Director of the Social Policy Institute, at Crawford School of Public Policy. He has published extensively on various aspects of the Australian and New Zealand systems of income support. In July 2008, he was appointed by the Australian government to the Reference Group for the Harmer Review of the Australian pension system.

Kristen Sobeck

Senior Research Officer

Kristen Sobeck is a Senior Research Officer at TTPI. Kristen studied economics and French at Smith College and has a Master’s degree in Economics from the University of Geneva. Prior to joining TTPI, she worked as an economist at the International Labour Organization (ILO) from its headquarters in Geneva and country office in Argentina. She was also awarded a Fulbright Fellowship in 2007.

Ralf Steinhauser

Senior Research Fellow

Ralf Steinhauser is a Senior Research Fellow at the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute at the Crawford School of Public Policy and at the Policy Experiments Lab (PELab) at the Centre for Social Research and Methods in CASS. He has previously held academic appointments at the University of Hamburg and the Research School of Economics, ANU. Ralf is interested in empirical research in the areas of Behavioural Economics, Tax Policy and Environmental Economics. He has published articles in journals such as Review of Economics and Statistics, Environmental and Resource Economics and World Development. Ralf has worked with a number of government organizations in Australia, such as the Australian Treasury, the Commonwealth Grants Commission, the Civil Aviation Safety Authority and the Department of the Environment and Energy.

Yinjunjie Zhang

Research Fellow

Dr Yinjunjie Zhang is a Research Fellow at the Tax and Transfer Policy Institute (TTPI) in the Crawford School of Public Policy. Her research interest spans the areas of labour economics, public economics and experimental economics. A common thread in her research is understanding the impact of public policy on people’s behaviour, choice, and welfare. Her publication and research projects include working on examining the intended and unintended policy effects on crime rate, labour market preference as well as economic decision makings in both the lab and field setting. Before joining ANU, she worked in the Chinese branch of a world-leading consulting firm on delivering employee health and benefits solutions. She obtained her Master degree in Shanghai Jiao Tong University in China and doctoral degree in Texas A&M University in the US.

Haydn Daw

ATO Secondee, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute

Haydn is a policy adviser at the Australian Taxation Office and has previously held roles at various government departments including the departments of Treasury, Industry and Agriculture. Haydn has served as a Senior Adviser to a former Assistant Treasurer and has played an instrumental role in previous Government tax reviews. Haydn is currently on secondment to the TTPI and is conducting research into the interface between accounting and taxation notions of income.

Lucas Rutherford

Treasury Secondee, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute

Lucas Rutherford is a Senior Adviser in the Revenue Group of the Commonwealth Treasury. Since joining the Treasury in 2007 he has worked on a variety of tax policy issues across the areas of corporate, international and personal income taxation. As well as performing a number of roles within the Australian Government he has previously worked as a technical advisor to the Papua New Guinea Tax Review, as a researcher for an economic think tank in Ghana and as a consultant focusing on tax policy and administration issues in Africa for the Australian Aid program. Most recently he was the International Tax and Regulation Policy Advisor for the Commonwealth Secretariat, a role in which he worked closely with a number of small states in the Commonwealth on the evolving international taxation and regulation policy agendas.

Carter Sullivan

PM&C Secondee, Tax and Transfer Policy Institute

Carter is a policy adviser at the Department of the Prime Minister and Cabinet where he provides advice to the Prime Minister on tax and financial sector matters. He has previously worked in the Australian Taxation Office and the Australian Bureau of Statistics. Carter is currently on secondment to the TTPI.

Updated:  23 October 2020/Responsible Officer:  Crawford Engagement/Page Contact:  CAP Web Team